Photo credit: JaPen
16/08/2023 03:40 PM

KUCHING, Aug 16 (Bernama) -- Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof topped the list of recipients of the Diamond Jubilee Commemorative Medal in conjunction with Sarawak’s 60th independence anniversary celebration in a ceremony held at the Sarawak State Assembly Banquet Hall here today.

Fadillah, who is also Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister, is among 43 individuals who were awarded the Pingat Peringatan Cemerlang Jubli Intan (Gold), presented by Sarawak Premier Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg.

Other recipients are former Armed Forces chief Gen (Rtd) Tun Mohamed Hashim Mohd Ali, Dewan Negara president Tan Sri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar, National Unity Minister Datuk Aaron Ago Dagang and Sarawak Minister for Education, Innovation and Talent Development Datuk Roland Sagah Wee Inn.

Five federal deputy ministers also received the same medal, namely Datuk Rubiah Wang (Rural and Regional Development), Datuk Hasbi Habibollah (Transportation), Datuk Hanifah Hajar Taib-Alsree (Economy), Datuk Seri Huang Tiong Sii (Natural Resources, Environment and Climate Change) and Lukanisman Awang Sauni (Health).

The commemorative medal was also awarded to two former federal ministers, Tan Sri Peter Chin Fah Kui and Tan Sri Dr Muhammad Leo Toyad Abdullah, former High Commissioner of Malaysia to Brunei Tan Sri Mohd Jamil Johari and former Federal Court Judge Tan Sri Sulong Matjeraie.

Former federal deputy minister Datuk Joseph Salang, national diver Datuk Pandelela Rinong Pamg and Sarawak’s former swimming queen Tania Bugo also received the medal.

Meanwhile, 32 individuals were awarded Pingat Peringatan Cemerlang Jubli Intan (Silver), including  Sarawak Energy Berhad chairman Datuk Amar Hamed Sepawi, deputy state secretary Datuk Dr Muhammad Abdullah Zaidel and former Malaysian Examination Syndicate director Datuk Dr Adi Badiozaman Tuah.