05/11/2022 06:02 PM

KUCHING, Nov 5 (Bernama) – Several seats involving big names in Sarawak will see multi-cornered fights in the 15th general election (GE15). 

In the Petra Jaya parliamentary seat, the incumbent, Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof, who is Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) senior vice-president representing Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) will be challenged by Sofian Julaihi (PH-PKR) and Parti Sedar Rakyat Sarawak (SEDAR) president Datuk Othman Abdullah. 

Fadillah, who is Senior Works Minister, has been Petra Jaya MP since 2004. 

In Santubong, GPS candidate and PBB women vice-chief Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri will be facing two opponents.

Nancy, the Tourism, Arts and Culture Minister, is contesting Santubong for the first time and will be challenged by Independent candidate Affendi Jeman and Mohamad Zen Peli (PH-Amanah).

Santubong incumbent, Datuk Seri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar, who has opted to sit out GE15, won the seat on a Barisan Nasional (BN) ticket in GE14 with a 19,485-vote majority against PH-PKR candidate Fidzuan Zaidi.

Puncak Borneo parliamentary seat GPS incumbent Datuk Wilie Mongin, meanwhile, will face Diog Dios (PH-PKR)  and Iana Akam of Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB).

Willie, who is Deputy Minister of Plantation Industries and Commodities, won the Puncak Borneo seat in GE14 on a PKR ticket with a majority of 4,005 votes before joining Bersatu in 2020 and then PBB in August.

The Sibu parliamentary seat will be a keen contest with incumbent Oscar Ling Chai Yew of DAP against Parti Bersatu Sarawak (PSB) president Datuk Sri Wong Soon Koh, who is also Bawang Assan assemblyman, and Parti Rakyat Bersatu Sarawak (SUPP) candidate Clarence Ting Ing Horh, representing GPS.

There is also a three-cornered fight in Saratok, involving incumbent Datuk Ali Biju representing Perikatan Nasional (PN-Bersatu) and challengers Giendam Jonathan Tait (GPS-PDP) and Ibil Jaya (PH-PKR).

The Julau parliamentary seat will see four contestants battling it out, including two party presidents. 

Parti Bangsa Malaysia (PBM) president Datuk Larry Sng Wei Shein, the incumbent will face Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) president Datuk Joseph Salang Gandum, representing GPS, Susan George from Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak (PBDS) and Independent candidate Elly Lawai Ngalai.