Formation of Betong, Rajang Development Agencies for coordination purpose

19/06/2022 09:35 PM

KUCHING, June 19 (Bernama) -- The Sarawak state government today announced the establishment of Betong Development Agency and Rajang Delta Development Agency to help coordinate development in the two areas.

Sarawak Premier Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg said RM1.5 billion would be allocated to each development agency.

He said Deputy Minister of Urban Planning, Land Administration and Environment, Datuk Len Talif Salleh would chair the Rajang Delta Development Agency while Deputy Premier Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas was tasked to set the boundaries for the Betong Development Agency.

“This is our new development strategy in the rural areas and not the urban areas…because the urban areas already have basic facilities and the respective city councils to help with development.

“The two agencies will not only be focusing on physical development but also on training of human capital,” he told reporters after attending the Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) 15th General Assembly, here, today.

The three-day assembly which ended today had gathered 2,420 delegates as well as observers.

PBB is the lynchpin party of the GPS coalition which also features Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS), Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP).

 Abang Johari, who is also PBB president, said the party had agreed to amend its constitution for the setting up of a wing for those aged 18 to 28.

“This new wing will give us a new platform to train the young leaders and we hope that through this wing, they could learn the intricacies of politics and how to be politically rational,” he added.